In 1905 the apparent surplus of limestone in the Skagit Valley area and New York money brought the Washington Portland Cement Company to the Eastern banks of the Baker River. The area was then appropriately named Cement City”.
This particular plant was first, but not the only. Just across river, in the town of Baker, the Portland Superior Cement Company joined the manufacturing competition. These two concrete giants rivaled for a short time before eventually merging together.
With that merge came the marriage of two towns. Baker and Cement City became known as the town of Concrete by 1909. Operations continued strong until shutting down in 1968. Over a century from their first batches of cement these plants have withstood the test of time and deliver unique character to the quiet town of Concrete, Wa.